OUI/Motor Vehicle Offenses FAQ
What Are Motor Vehicle Offenses?
In Massachusetts, motor vehicle offenses refer to any violation of state-mandated driving laws. Criminal motor vehicle offenses include operating under the influence (OUI), motor vehicle homicide, leaving the scene of an accident, operation after a suspended or revoked license.
What Is An OUI?
In Massachusetts, charges that involve “drunk driving” are commonly known as operating under the influence (OUI). You can be charged with an OUI if you are found driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08% or greater, or with a BAC of 0.02% or greater if you are under 21 years old.
What Happens If I Am Found Guilty Of An OUI?
If you are convicted of an OUI, you face serious penalties, including lengthy jail time, heavy fines, loss of your driver’s license and probation. A first-time offender may face up to two-and-a-half years in jail, $2,000 in fines and a suspended license for a year. The potential penalties increase considerably depending on the number of offenses on your record.
What Should I Do If I Am Being Charged With An OUI?
If you are being charged with an OUI, you should contact a skilled criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. A timely review of the allegations can be crucial for your attorney to secure the best possible result for your case. Call us at 617-208-0505 or email us for a free consultation.